Childhood Disappointments

Harry Potter is my culture.

All my life I have been surrounded with the Harry Potter universe. One of my earliest memories is of sitting on the couch watching Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets with my grandma.

The Harry Potter series was the first chapter book I ever read. Harry Potter has shaped my reading, and if you know me you know reading is a huge part of my life. I don’t want to sound cliche but Harry Potter has changed my life. I grew up reading the tales of school age children accomplishing amazing things. As the movies came out they were the primary source of my childhood games and costumes.

Even past adolescence I have watched the actors that brought Harry Potter to life step out of their robes and continue their journey in the real world. Emma Watson, who plays Hermione Granger in Harry Potter, brought me role models and the image of who I aspire to be as a woman.

Harry Potter is a children’s book and yet millions of adults are ensnared in the magic of the universe. The themes and morals — love, family, loyalty — are applicable to people of every age.

The Harry Potter universe was supposed to stop expanding in 2012 with the release of the last movie. To the joy of many (including myself) it hasn’t. Through the interactive website Pottermore.com JK Rowling has brought short stories and continuations of the wizarding world.

This, as well as the wild and entertaining theories that circulate Tumblr, have sustained my hunger for new material for four years. Until now.

In this year alone there is a play and a movie (the first of five) extending the Potterverse further into the past and the future. To say I was excited was an understatement. Not only do I have a new book to read, there are now five more movies for me to relish in.

The book/play came out in the summer and to say I was disappointed is an understatement.

I didn’t read it. I got 50 pages in and I. Stopped. Reading. I was so thorughly disheartened by the direction JK Rowling took the the Harry Potter world that I couldn’t continue. I still haven’t finished reading it and to be honest I don’t plan on doing so. I read enough. I know that Harry became a bad father and to me that is an outrageous lie. It may be just a book series but I can’t believe that these heroes that shaped my childhood turned out to be bad people.

Harry Potter was the dream and Cursed Child is waking up.

I’ve waited for nine years since the last book came out for me quality reading material in the Harry Potter world. I finally get it and it changes all of my theories, ponderings, fantastical dreams of what expected to happen. Not only that but it changes how I perceive a series that was a monumental building block of my life.

On Thursday I am I going to the theaters to watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. This is the new movie taking place 70 years before the original Harry Potter series occurs. I am extrememly excited but I’m also worried. What other monumental changes will this bring to the Harry Potter world? How will this change my perception even more?

Whatever happens I will stand by this series. I will encourage young readers, old readers, any in between to read this amazing series. Whether you read all seven or only watch the movies it’s an amazing experience and those who never do are truly missing out.

Read the books. Watch the movies. Experience the magic.

Leave a Reply

